Lisa Speaks Out-The Revival

When I created this blog back in 2015, my sole purpose for it was to express myself by using a medium that has always been the most comfortable to me-writing. In my last blog post, which was written back in 2020, I had decided to discontinue the Lisa Speaks Out blog because of years of people who were no longer in my life harassing me in my comment section or through the messages of my Facebook page for this blog on and off. These people were former friends or exes who had used the page and blog, which I shared with them in confidence when they were still a part of my life, to try and make disparaging comments toward me or to try and continue messaging me if they were blocked on my main account. I was unable to block them from commenting or sending me messages, though they eventually would quit. However, the next time I had a falling out with someone or a breakup, that person would resort to distressing comments on my blog and messages for a few weeks or even months. This happened on and off for five years, and it took a toll on me in December 2020 when it happened yet again. I decided to discontinue this blog, a decision that felt right for me at the time.

However, I found myself longing to return to this blog recently. I did try to make a new blog last year, which I only updated twice before abandoning it. I did not feel the same connection to that blog as I had with this one. Though I did not update this blog as much as I would have liked to before I discontinued it, I felt like this particular blog had been a true form of catharsis for me during the five years that I ran it, and I developed an audience for this blog that supported me to a point where the support could outweigh the negativity from people who no long longer held a relevance in my life. I also loved the name, “Lisa Speaks Out,” because it held importance to me. All my life, I had felt silenced from being allowed to express myself. I had always been incredibly shy and suffered from social anxiety all my life, and I was always bullied growing up which caused me to shut down rather than express myself. That being said, these issues with shyness and feeling silenced persuaded me to start this blog and continue on with it even through all the harassment from people who were no longer in my life.

So why have I decided to revive this blog? Well it could be narrowed down to a few reasons:

  1. As I have stated, this blog has always been a form of catharsis for me. I used this blog to express my thoughts, make sense of life experiences, post short stories or poems from time to time based on what I was going through, and express my struggles with issues going on in my life and with mental health. I do have some people in my life that are willing to listen to me with no judgement, but writing has also been a great way to get my thoughts out there without any discomfort, and without feeling judged or alone. This has especially been needed this past year, as I have been struggling with a lot in my personal life. I do have people in my life that are supportive and caring, but writing has also provided a sense of comfort for me as well. The other night I was feeling down and unsure of my life due to my inability to pursue the things I want lately because of personal issues in my life, and the thought of writing again cheered me up and gave me something positive to think about. Immediately, all the hopelessness and feeling stuck faded away. Sure, I still have my bouts of overthinking and feeling unsure about the future, but at least writing helps me feel at ease and productive.
  2. My boyfriend has been encouraging me to get back into my hobbies, which includes writing and art. His gentle persuasion has helped motivate me to get back to my hobbies again. I started coloring and getting art ideas. I also have slowly been getting out of the writer’s block I have had ever since I finished college in late 2020. He also helped me get out of this rut I’ve been in the past year that kept me from having the energy to write.
  3. A friend of mine who I hadn’t spoken to in a while texted me last week, and she was always a big supporter of my blog. To me, it felt like a sign to revisit my blog, which is something I was thinking of doing for a while. It may sound silly, but I am a believer that everything happens for a reason and that there are often signs from the universe that steer you in the right direction when you are at a crossroads.
  4. As I stated, this blog is called “Lisa Speaks Out” for a reason. It is a space where I share my thoughts, experiences, and promote my writing. It feels good to have a space where I can speak my mind and receive support, as well as do what I love, which is writing. Sure, I may have received negative comments from people who I once considered an important part of my life, but negativity is inevitable once you begin to put your work out there. I have decided to focus my energy on the outpouring of support I receive when I post these blogs and pay no mind to those who no longer have any presence or importance in my life. So, if you are someone who has supported my blog and stayed here even during my hiatus, someone who keeps up with every blog I have posted, and/or you are someone that is there for me for those of you who do know me in real life and follow my blog, thank you for the support all these years and for your continued support as I return back to this platform. For those who are no longer in my life and tried to use my safe space as a way to spread hate and act petty, nice try. You will not silence me.

That being said, Lisa Speaks Out is back, and I plan to post as regularly as I can. For those who are new here or wondering what I will use this blog for moving forward, I will use it for the same purpose I did before I left. I will be posting personal experiences, thoughts, and maybe a story here and there. I also will be using this blog to promote my writing and art projects. Thank you again for all the continued support, and it is great to be back.

1 thought on “Lisa Speaks Out-The Revival

Leave a comment